If a pedestrian is hit by a car, most people will always think the driver was at fault. While this is usually true, in some cases the pedestrian may be partially liable, depending on what they were doing at the time they were hit.
Personal Injury Attorney Serving The Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan & New York City Areas
If you have been involved in a car accident, even a minor one, it is important to see a doctor as soon as you can. Generally, we advise seeing a doctor within 72 hours of your accident. Even if you think you weren't hurt, you should still get checked out. Often, victims of a car accident don't start to experience symptoms right away. A doctor can perform an examination and check for typical car accident injuries that may not manifest symptoms until days or weeks later.
Texting while driving is a leading cause of car accidents in Brooklyn, NYC, and across the United States. Although texting is a relatively recent phenomenon, it has quickly risen to become one of the most dangerous things you can do while driving.
If you've been injured in a hit and run car accident, you may wonder how you can get compensation since the other person left the scene. Luckily, even if the other driver is never identified, you have options. New York City requires you to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, which means your own insurance can pay for your medical bills. In addition, you can file a claim under the Motor Vehicle Accident Indemnification Act.
Due to unfavorable portrayals in media, some people think that they cannot get compensation from a whiplash injury that arose from a car accident. However, whiplash can be a serious injury that may greatly affect your quality of life and require extensive medical treatment. If this is the case, you should hire a car accident whiplash lawyer so that you can have the best chance at getting the compensation you deserve.
While you have 3 years to file a lawsuit after being injured in a car accident, you only have 30 days to file a claim for your no-fault benefits. New York is a no-fault insurance state, which means you can claim benefits such as lost wages and medical bills from your insurance regardless of who was at fault in your accident.
If you are injured in a hit and run car accident, it is important to report your accident to the police and file an insurance claim as soon as possible. You should file your police report within 24 hours (if you are unable to do so, you may need to file an affidavit with an explanation of why you couldn't report your accident sooner), and although you technically have up to 30 days to file your insurance claim, you should do it as soon as you can.
People often wonder how much their claim is worth after being injured in a car accident. Insurance companies will usually offer you a settlement, but how do you know that settlement is fair? Insurance companies care about their bottom line first and foremost, and they will offer the lowest amount they think they can get away with. Reid Wissner is an experienced personal injury lawyer who can look at the facts of your case and let you know how much he thinks a jury would be likely to award you.
One of the most common types of injury after a car accident is broken bones. When you break a bone, it can greatly impact your life. You may not be able to work for some time, your ability to perform daily tasks by yourself may be impacted, and you may even need surgery or end up with a lifelong disability.
People are injured in car accidents every day, often due to the negligence of another driver. When only two vehicles are involved, it can be fairly straightforward to pinpoint who is liable. However, in accidents involving multiple vehicles, liability can become more complex.