Sometimes I'm asked how long do I have to report injuries from a car accident, or how long do I have to file a lawsuit. While you have a long time to start a lawsuit, you have very limited amounts of time to file a claim, because the law in New York protects insurance companies. Certain claims must be filed within as short as 30 days after the accident. In an automobile accident in New York State, the medical bills are paid for under the no fault provisions of the insurance policy, and New York State law provides that a no fault application must be filed within 30 days after the accident. So, in order to protect your rights to the fullest, it's important that you give me a call as soon as possible. You can reach me at my office at 212 406 9288 or you can contact me through my website at wissnerlaw.com.